Pocket Watches Forum

AccueilAccueil  Dernières imagesDernières images  RechercherRechercher  S'enregistrerS'enregistrer  ConnexionConnexion  

Berthoud à Paris - another one

3 participants
AuteurMessage
patbig
patbig

Berthoud à Paris - another one Empty
MessageSujet: Berthoud à Paris - another one   Berthoud à Paris - another one EmptyJeu Nov 21, 2013 5:01 am

Hello everybody, good whatever part of time it is where you are. A coincidence, I just received my newly acquired Berthoud verge watch. I am new to horology, and sort of got into it through classic boats, I was looking for a proper clock for my gaff yawl Germaine, built in 1882 and just relaunched, found a nice period Charles Frodsham bulkhead clock in working order and fitted it in the main cabin. I then looked for a period watch too, and that's how it started. That was last summer. Now I am staying near Paris most of the winter, my wife is been treated in a nearby hospital and I visit her often. Learning how to repair ancient clocks and watches is a fascinating way to spend my time between visits.
Because of my love of sailing, I concentrated my search on "Horlogers de la marine", French clock and watchmakers who had to take a special certification to supply time measuring devices for the merchant and military fleets. My first project watch early last month was a going barrel lever pocket watch by Paul Garnier, Horloger de la Marine rue Taitbout in Paris, circa 1860.